February 26, 2017


Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – 2007 | 138 mins | Fantasy, Adventure | Colour


Plot Synopsis

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Following Chris Columbus’ enjoyable ‘Sorcerer’s Stone’,Alfonso Cuarón’s dark ‘Prisoner of Azkaban’ and Mike Newell’s mature ‘Goblet of Fire’, the baton for JK Rowling’s Harry Potter franchise is passed to former television helmer David Yates. Familiarity breeds content, but Yates swathes swiftly through Rowling’s text with aggressive efficacy, clocking a crisp 138 minutes. However,some characters are given short shrift and subplots are sketched over, and those unfamiliar with the novel will struggle to keep up. The once colourful series has gradually become more dark and oppressive, but this new maturity can’t disguise that ‘Phoenix’ is one of the more dreary novels and that not much actually happens.

Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts for his fifth year only to find that he is facing expulsion for using magic outside school and in the presence of a Muggle. Few people really believe that he encountered Voldemort and his only adult ally, Dumbledore, is acting strangely. Cornelius Fudge, the Minister for Magic, appoints a new Defence against the Dark Arts teacher to watch over the students. To help protect the school from the battle he knows is looming, Harry forms ‘Dumbeldore’s Army’ from a group of sympathetic students and begins training them how to defend themselves against the Dark Arts.

Production Team

David Yates: Director
Alexandra Walker: Art Direction
Gary Tomkins: Art Direction
Martin Schaedler: Art Direction
Neil Lamont: Art Direction
Alastair Bullock: Art Direction
Mark Bartholomew: Art Direction
Andrew Ackland-Snow: Art Direction
Slawomir Idziak: Cinematography
Jany Temime: Costume Design
Mark Day: Film Editing
Belinda Hodson: Makeup Department
Colin Jamison: Makeup Department
Jan Jamison: Makeup Department
Amanda Knight: Makeup Department
Sharon Nicholas: Makeup Department
Norma Webb: Makeup Department
Lisa Tomblin: Makeup Department
Tracy Smith: Makeup Department
Hilary Haines: Makeup Department
Andrea Finch: Makeup Department
Sarah Downes: Makeup Department
Amy Byrne: Makeup Department
Amanda Burns: Makeup Department
Lynda Armstrong: Makeup Department
Nicholas Hooper: Original Music
David Heyman: Producer
David Barron: Producer
Stuart Craig: Production Design
Michael Goldenberg: Script
Stuart Wilson: Sound Department
Jon Olive: Sound Department
James Mather: Sound Department
Jed Loughran: Sound Department
Andy Kennedy: Sound Department
Robert Ireland: Sound Department
Dominic Gibbs: Sound Department
Iain Eyre: Sound Department
James Boyle: Sound Department
John Casali: Sound Department


Daniel Radcliffe: Harry Potter
Emma Watson: Hermione Granger
Rupert Grint: Ron Weasley
Richard Griffiths: Uncle Vernon Dursley
Jessica Hynes: Mafalda Hopkirk
Brendan Gleeson: Alastor \’Mad-­Eye\’ Moody
Mark Williams: Arthur Weasley
David Thewlis: Remus Lupin
Julie Walters: Molly Weasley
Ralph Fiennes: Lord Voldemort
Robbie Coltrane: Hagrid
Alan Rickman: Professor Severus Snape
Maggie Smith: Professor Minerva McGonagall
Gary Oldman: Sirius Black
Michael Gambon: Albus Dumbledore
Robert Hardy: Cornelius Fudge
Jason Isaacs: Lucius Malfoy
Imelda Staunton: Dolores Umbridge
David Bradley: Argus Filch
Emma Thompson: Sybil Trelawney
Helena Bonham Carter: Bellatrix Lestrange

blog comments powered by Disqus