+ Reply to Thread
    Liked
    0 times
    Not sure if I'm asking this in the correct area but I need some input on the title movie. I am new to a film class and currently writing a paper and some of the topics that I need to include are my thoughts on the cinematography and editing techniques used in this movie. Any input to get me started would be greatly appreciated on these styles used throughout the movie.

Thank you. mailto:roseann.carlin@fishersci.comroseann.carlin@fishersci.com</a>

Senior Member Country: United States
    Liked
    0 times
    Hello Roe,

This is the right place to ask such a question. Although, I'm not sure what you wanted by your poll?

A few items...

To Sir, With Love is one of my sentimental favourites from childhood. It was released in 1967 and was based on the novel by E. R. Braithwaite of the same name. It was when British was hip and mod and playful in pop culture. Of the many movies in Britain coming over, this one made a lasting impact in the states and was regularly seen on network TV in the 70s. It picked up from where Blackboard Jungle started. Interesting, Poitier was in both.

I think Sidney Poitier is at his best. He is sublime. In the same year 67, he also stared in racial stories - Guess Who's Coming to Dinner and In the Heat of the Night (rudely looked over by the Academy). I think To Sir made the most positive impact. For me to explain it is to ruin it.

Judy Geeson had been in acting, but this launched her and Lulu's title song was a big hit. This was a movie where the whole group worked together well. The teachers are made up of some well known British actors. Suzy Kendall, who is an innocent, was a top model at the time. Ann Bell and Geoffrey Bayldon played a lot on Brit TV. And, Patricia Routledge would become very well known later on Keeping Up Appearances.