![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
|||||||
![]() |
Notices | ![]() |
| General Film Chat Wide-ranging discussion on all film-related matters. |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
![]() |
![]() |
|
jazzylady
has no status.
Senior Member
|
Hello all,
I am wondering if anyone here has ever dealt with this company: http://www.goldenageofcinema.com/ I'm asking because I ordered a film. It all seemd very simple. I was able to use paypal, in US dollars. I could even order the film in NTSC DVD. I waited and waited and it never came. I wrote to them and they never responded. I wrote again, a little perturbed this time, but I still kept my cool. I also submitted a refund request from paypal, which was taken care of within 24 hours. Then this morning I received a VERY PROFANE email from the merchant. I was completely stunned. I then forwarded the email to paypal. Am I in the twilight zone here? I'd be interested in learning about others' experiences with this company. Ruth |
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
Steve Crook
is cheeky
Moderator
|
Quote:
If you want to take it further, the domain was registered through Domains by Proxy, Inc. DomainsByProxy.com 15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353 Scottsdale, Arizona 85260 United States (480) 624-2599 GOLDENAGEOFCINEMA.COM@domainsbyproxy.com Created on: 14-Jun-05 Expires on: 14-Jun-06 Last Updated on: 14-Jun-05 Steve |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
DB7
is scavenging through life's very constant lulls
Administrator
|
Reminds me of another site that has now closed. DomainsByProxy.com should be a warning as the seller will have anonymity from dissatisfied customers.
Quote:
Quote:
|
||
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
Steve Crook
is cheeky
Moderator
|
Quote:
Steve |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
sippog
is . .no, REALLY does have no status
Senior Member
|
If you buy a domain name - I own a few - then your real name and address becomes a matter of record. I think what is being suggested is that you approach the individual or company at their actual address. Not easy if you live in the UK and they live in the US.
I'm curious to know what Paypal did for you. The only time I approached them over a problem, they insisted I return the problem item to the seller and - get this -THE SELLER CONFIRM RECEIVING IT before they'd do anything; worse than useless with a dodgy seller. I was also frustrated by their impenetrable system for handling queries - no way of getting a specific answer from a human being. Result - I would never consider make a large or serious purchase using Paypal. My credit card company will at least stop payment if I'm being ripped off. Thanks for the warning about "golden age". Re: other dealers - Let me add my endorsement to the others elsewhere about "Bob's Movies" (http://bpm123.net/) who have been reliable and a warning about LearMedia who haven't been at all. Sippog |
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
DB7
is scavenging through life's very constant lulls
Administrator
|
Quote:
£14.99 for his copy or £6.99 for an original from Play. |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
Steve Crook
is cheeky
Moderator
|
Quote:
Steve |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
JamesM
has no status.
Moderator
|
They have titles that are avaialble such as An Inspector Calls and The Arsenal Stadium Mystery but can offer different formats. Smacks to me of bootlegs of official releases, which is worse than bootlegging a title that otherwise may not be available. They would have no qualms about stealing your plot summary Steve.
There are a few companies that happily produce bootlegs of titles (such as the 'What A Carve Up DVD' mentioned in another thread (Jef Films Inc even release titles MGM own and are busy restoring). These end up with the likes of Nostalgia Video. I cannot seee how Nostalgia Video and their ilk could possibly care about their customers when they are selling poor quality illegal copies of films for a greater price than the eventual restord versions. I must make a dinstinction between these companies and 'public domain' companies, who release titles that hold no copyright and can occassionally step into the breach a produce quality restorations (White Zombie from the Roan Group / Troma for example). I looked at the site, www.goldenageofcinema.com, and noticed they do not supply a geographical address or even an email address or phone number on their contact page. This should always ring alarm bells. |
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
DB7
is scavenging through life's very constant lulls
Administrator
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
benchcluttocks
has no status.
Member
|
Hi, I just wanted to ask if anyone has dealt with Loulwa Wmffres. I agreed a price for The Halfway House and I have never received it, and no refund! This has gone on since October. When I told them it had not arrived they said they would send another copy in the post. Nothing has ever arrived and now they won't reply to my emails, have I been conned!!???!!
|
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks | ![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0 ©2008, Crawlability, Inc.
|
Copyright © 1998-2008 BritMovie |