+ Reply to Thread
    Liked
    0 times
    Representation of Women in recent British and American Films

Hey everyone,

For my Media StudiesCritical Research Study i have to research Women in film.

My question is:

How are women stereotypically represented in specific Romantic Comedies?

The specific Rom-coms are:

British: The Accidental Husband, Bridget Jones' Diary

American: The Holiday, Legally Blonde

If you are able to give me your thoughts or useful information on this topic i will be extremely grateful.

Thankyou!

Member Country: Scotland
    Liked
    0 times
    Hello there - I am currently studying the A Level Film Studies course, and co-incidently this question sort of came up in one of the early exercises...

The question was 'How have specific genres changes over time?' - and then the student had to chose from one of the principal genres, like 'Romantic Comedy'.

I had a quick crack at this, And although being a bloke, so not naturally the best student of RomComs I did feel that even I could see some changes to the attitudes regarding the role of women in these sort of movies...

Initially, I did float the idea that female characters, over time, have become much stronger and less stereotyped and that - I believed - that RomCom is the one genre where the normal male-centric casting lead is turned on it's head.

In RomComs - I guess because film makers believe that females are the main audience - the female is depicted as the stronger, more intelligent and witty lead. And it is the male that has become the stereotyped secondary character who is the brunt of the 'joke'.

HOWEVER, I remembered one of my favorite actresses - Katherine Hepburn - and how she brought a very strong and independent lead female to RomComs of the 40s.

She often had the best of her male counterpart and could be described as a very positive female role-model for the time and very much ahead of her time.