![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
DB7
has no status.
Administrator
|
Quote:
I'm not sure what email client you use, but if you find an option to view source or header, you should see the identity of the real sender near the top. It'll likely be a set of numbers like 213.564.456 rather than a .com/co.uk etc. |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
Ascoyne D'Ascoyne
has no status.
Senior Member
|
Quote:
The sender of the email was listed as "ebay-Optima"<checkout@ebay.com> I wonder if other members might be able to comment on the genuineness of this. A further mystery( I printed the email off just to have something concrete in my hands and before my eyes) -a note at the bottom reads "this eBay notice was sent to brian-s-****** (my edit) at yahoo.com How on earth did it reach my tiscali email box? (I have no connection with any brian-s-*****) |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
DB7
has no status.
Administrator
|
Quote:
If you join Spamcop.net they will break down the email and tell you its origins, and offer you the opportunitty to send abuse complaints. I tend to get the odd fake ebay mail but roughly 2 fake TSB mails per week to my freemail account. It's often a good idea to use your isp email for Paypal etc but use a Yahoo/Hotmail account for joining forums etc. A lot of free services make their money by passing on email addresses to third parties... who will then spam you. |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
Steve Crook
is cheeky
Moderator
|
Quote:
Never, Never fill in a form in an email like that. If it offers you a link to a web page, you'll probably see a page that looks like a page from the people that you think sent you the message - but check that address and you'll see that it's from somewhere totally unrelated to eBay. Places like eBay and all the banks, have policy statements that they'll never ask for user details in an email and they also tell you how to recognise these attempts to get your passwords and other details. You should never even reply to emails like this. All that happens when you reply is that you've confirmed your email exists so you'll get a lot more of them. Always be a bit suspicious. Not totally suspicious of everything or you'll never have any fun. But remember that "there are crocodiles" out there. Steve Quote:
That means they probably sent it out via Outlook which doesn't let you send to BCC addresses only, it insists on at least one visible address. It's easy to make a web page that looks like an eBay (or a bank's) admin page. Check the address (URL) and you'll see that it starts with something totally different, unrelated to ebay or the bank. Steve |
||
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
mysteriesofedgarwallace
is Jack Greenwood's Tea Boy
Senior Member
|
I tend to use a number of different email addresses for different things.
The email address I use for fleabay I use for nothing else. I now use gmail for everything and have found it very good, a much better bet than an isp email address (in my case nthell) used with outlook, etc. |
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
Steve Crook
is cheeky
Moderator
|
Quote:
But every time you make a purchase or sale on eBay you give your email address to the other party in the sale. And who's to know what they do with it. They could deliberately sell on all the email addresses they know or they could just list them on an accessible web page which the phishers then trawl through. Then, once they have your email address, you'll start getting the fraudulent emails. It's very hard to stop them being sent. It's better to be aware of them and know what to do when they do arrive. Steve |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
AMP
has no status.
Member
|
I had a scam email purporting to come from eBay a couple of weeks ago along the lines of someone is using your account to make fraudulent bids etc we need you to confirm user name and password via the link. The best bet is to go on your ‘My eBay’ page as any actual emails sent from eBay are copied to this page – if there isn’t a copy email on your eBay page they didn’t send it – simple!
|
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
Ascoyne D'Ascoyne
has no status.
Senior Member
|
Quote:
On friendly sites like this we tend to feel at home after a while and start to reveal all sorts of bits of personal information about ourselves for all to see. I've noticed that there are invariably a number of "guests" viewing this site every day most of whom, I guess, are thoroughly benign in their intentions. But now I've started to become suspicious and am wondering if, occassionally, we have one or two unwelcome guests visiting whose purpose is to case the joint. [img]style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/detective.gif[/img] |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
Steve Crook
is cheeky
Moderator
|
Quote:
Do it in a form that humans can make sense of but that any programs scanning web sites like this won't be able to read. Suggested forms are: Adding an extra character at the end and then telling people to leave it off when they email. "speaking it out" in words like "Steve at Brainstorm dot co dot uk" Adding another word or two like Steve@nospam.Brainstorm.co.uk and telling people to take out the "nospam." Or even Steve@The.Rubbish.Brainstorm.co.uk - then you can tell people to "take out The.Rubbish." Steve |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
DB7
has no status.
Administrator
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0 ©2008, Crawlability, Inc.
|
Copyright © 1998-2008 BritMovie |