On-line Websites And Dvd Bargains - A Word Of Warning - Britmovie - British Film Forum

Britmovie - British Film Forum Britmovie - British Film Forum Britmovie - British Film Forum
Home Page Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

 »   Britmovie - British Film Forum » Living Room » Latest DVD Releases » Sales Offers and Bargains

Notices

Sales Offers and Bargains Online and High Street sales offers.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2007, 05:54 PM
  post #1
Mr Cosmo is working hard on his film book due out in October 2009. Please buy a copy!!!
Senior Member
 
Mr Cosmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ambrosia
Gender: Male
Posts: 386
My Mood:
Country:
iTrader: (2)
Default On-line Websites And Dvd Bargains - A Word Of Warning

Yesterday I saw a great bargain on Streets Online - Cheap XBOX 360, Nintendo Wii, Nintendo DS, Playstation 2 Games, DVDs and Music CDs offering an Alfred Hitchcock DVD set (featuring the Universal stuff like “Marnie”, “The Man Who Knew Too Much”, “The Birds” etc.) for 7.99 GBP. I ordered it straightaway but less than 12 hours later I received a note saying

With reference to order number xxxxxx
Unfortunately, our suppliers have informed us that they are no longer able to supply Alfred Hitchcock [14 Disc Box Set]
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience or disappointment.
As it is our standard policy only to charge for products when we are notified they are available for dispatch, you have not been charged for this product.
The status of this product has now been updated to No Longer Available and the item effectively cancelled from your order.
Streetsonline.co.uk
Customer Service Team.


Now think about it – I don’t know these people, but they now have my credit card details, my e-mail address and other information that could be used for a fraud or as the basis of an identity theft attack. I am not saying that they will misuse my details, but have you noticed that more and more on-line sites are springing up and offering great bargains they can’t fulfil. (A couple of weeks back http://www.play.com failed to honour an order on the Pink Panther boxed set, and Cheap CD's, DVD's and Games online at PowerplayDirect.com - all with FREE DELIVERY! took around 9 weeks to deliver the last thing I ordered from them (and it is definitely the last thing I will order from them).

There is no legal comeback on these people as any advertised product is “an invitation to treat” and is not part of a contract. The only legal implication is that now they have my information they are duty bound to protect it under the Data Protection Act – but given that they have no head office, no store front or anything – this could be difficult to chase up. After all – anyone can set up a website.

One last thing that you all probably know – never enter any sensitive information on to a site unless it begins with https and has a padlock icon at the bottom of the screen. You’d be amazed how many merchants still don’t have secure websites.

So next time you see something on-line that looks too good to be true – chances are it is.

Mr Cosmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 06:36 PM
  post #2
Rob Compton has no status.
Senior Member
 
Rob Compton's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oxfordshire
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,341
Country:
iTrader: (2)
Default

Sam

I think the other point to make is that with an ever increasing number of online sales sites, comes the prospect of more mistakes and "misprices" which I think your Hitchcock bargain was - these things get about really quick across the web and often such sites are swamped with orders, destined for ebay usually.

rgds
Rob
Rob Compton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 07:22 PM
  post #3
ChristineCB has no status.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,738
Country:
iTrader: (13)
Default

This is one of the best schemes to gather such info. Post a great deal, then collect the data, then come back and say, "Sorry-!" and maybe not now, maybe not next week or next month, but later launch the attacks so the on-line shoppers will be even more confused about who's misusing their data.

It's a lot easier than raiding a post-office's bins full of new credit card mailings, or standing in alleys, pulling a gun on passersby.
ChristineCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 08:44 PM
  post #4
Wolfgang has no status.
Senior Member
 
Wolfgang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: England
Posts: 599
Country:
iTrader: (2)
Default

Recently Barbara requested something on Britmovie and subsequently received lots of offers. I wondered then who really had that film and who just wanted Barbara's address!
Wolfgang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 05:00 PM
  post #5
Dame Starry is celebrating being the 200,000th poster on the Forum.
Senior Member
 
Dame Starry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Here
Posts: 3,928
Country:
iTrader: (0)
Default

A couple of months ago, I ordered a DVD on-line from cdwow!.
The film was listed as 'In Stock' until I had created an account, given them all of my details and they had extracted the ackers from my debit card!
THEN, a message came up on screen that they were waiting for a delivery and they didn't know when it was being delivered.
That really infuriates me!
If I'm told that it is out of stock before I give them my order, then it is my choice to continue.

However, all of my e-mail enquiries were dealt with by return - within 20-30 minutes - and, when I finally lost my patience after 4 weeks and requested a refund, it was put back into my bank account the same day.
I paid slightly more for the DVD in the end, but I did get it within a couple of weeks (it had to come from the States).

I was always told that, if your URL changes from http:// to https:// when you checkout your order, then the site is secure.

I use websites where they have been holding my details for over 8 years without a problem - although hackers may well have looked at it and decided that they didn't want to take on the responsibility of my overdraft!

DS x.
Dame Starry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 05:15 PM
  post #6
Carmel has no status.
Senior Member
 
Carmel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,218
My Mood:
Country:
iTrader: (8)
Default

As someone said always use sights you know rather than the ones noone has ever heard of if a product is listed as in stock on the web page it should be in stock so i would be wary of these sights that suddenly say that they are no longer in stock when clearly it states on their page that it is i would inform my bank of this or my credit card company to be on the safe side. TRUST NOBODY BUT YOURSELF.

Live each day to the full because one day it will be your last.
Carmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:03 AM.
SEO by vBSEO 3.2.0 ©2008, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright © 1998-2008 BritMovie