Announcement

Collapse

Welcome to the www.Britmovie.co.uk forum

If this is your first time on the new forum since March 7th, 2017, please re-register with us once more.
Paypal contributions for the care and feeding of the forum may be made here:
PayPal Donations

The old bulletin board archive can be found here:
http://filmdope.com/forums/
See more
See less

French Noir - Themes and characters in Le Samouraï, Shoot the Piano Player and Rififi

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• French Noir - Themes and characters in Le Samouraï, Shoot the Piano Player and Rififi

This is my first post on this site, and I thought I would kick it off with a little discussion on what I think are some rather overlooked films. I am a film student at college and part of a study I am doing is on the evolution of French Noir, so anyone's input would be fantastic.
    'Le Samouraï' is an absolute gem of a film, and Alain Delon's Jef Costello is one of the coolest characters in cinema, in my opinion. He evidently provides inspiration for Gosling's character in 'Drive' and portrays the atmosphere of isolation continuously through the film. I would appreciate anyone's thoughts on isolation and solitude in the film, and how Melville goes about showing these themes (I noticed the obvious lack of dialogue in the opening sequence, the apparent executive decision to make money black and white in a colour film, the barred windows in the apartment etc.). Any comments at all would be appreciated.